Patient Reviews

Reviews for Jacksonville, FL dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel Dermatology Services Services

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter13 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 14, 2020

I have been coming to Southside Dermatology for 20 years. They are professional but fun and thorough! Being a lifelong resident of Florida the sun has done its damage but Dr. Pentel and her staff have brought me through skin cancer and taught me the right way to enjoy our Florida sun... I highly recommend them for your family... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 18, 2020

Dr Pentel & her staff have always been very caring while addressing all of my medical needs.  Ted, Chloe and Willette take the time to explain things to me, and patiently answer my many questions. I highly recommend Southside Dermatology to anyone who needs excellent skin care and skin cancer screening. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 18, 2019

I have had acne my entire life. Dr Pentel and her team at Southside dermatology helped me completely clear up my acne. They make an effort to always remember your name and take care of you like family. They truly do what is best for you. I wouldn’t go to any other dermatologist in Jacksonville. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2017

I have had multiple skin cancers. This office is professional and informative. Dr Pentel and her staff have been knowledgeable and skillful in removing my lesions. Front desk staff are excellent and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 17, 2017

So Far, So Good! - I am a 30 year old female who is 5'4 and about 140lbs. I eat right, exercise, and live a healthy lifestyle. Every since I was about 15 (puberty time) I have noticed my armpits dripped sweat. Nothing that smelled, just liquid, like a dripping faucet. I only wear tank tops and when its cold i'll put a jacket over a tank top or get a sweater that makes me look like a flying squirrel when I put my arms out. Whether I'm hot or cold, I drip. My right arm has always been worse and anxiety definitely makes it worse. I have had Botox one time (and it worked for about 8 months) but haven't done it again because I can't get my insurance to cover it, and its expensive. About a month ago I started researching the surgery to get my sweat glands removed. I was sick of not being able to wear what I wanted, having to literally live my life around how my armpits would drip. I even have napkins in the car that I dab myself with before I go into any place. Its embarrassing and the thought of going back to school or work (now that my kids are getting older) was weighing on my mind because of my sweat. It sounds so silly, but anyone who suffers with this understands the way I feel. I looked up a few places and decided with the Spa and Laser center at Southside Dermatology in Jacksonville, FL, about a 3-hour drive from my house. They were clean and sooo helpful/easy to ask questions. They use tumescent numbing after 4 lidocaine shots (at injection sites of tumescent), after gridding my armpit. The pain was about a level 3 for the lidocaine shots, and I didn’t feel a thing for the entire procedure. My husband drove me home and I iced my pits for 20 on/20 off for the remainder of the day. They were swollen and bruised, but 0 pain. She even told me to take something to sleep, but I didn’t, and I slept the entire night just fine. The next day they were very swollen. Like, half a grapefruit under each armpit swollen. I was a tiny bit worried but I had no hot/red spots and still 0 pain. Everything looked good so I guess it was normal. I wouldn’t have wanted to work or anything, as I felt uncomfortable from the swelling, so I just hung out all day. Day 3 was considerably less swollen, I even cleaned my house (vacuuming, mopping, etc). Today is day 4. They’re a little swollen and still numb, but not bad. I went for a 3 mile run and I feel great. Ok, so now for results. I haven’t worn deodorant since the day before my procedure. I have 0 smell and I haven’t dripped one single drop. I was moist under both armpits after my run today, but it was normal sweating, not excessive. If these results continue I will just cry from being so happy. I could not have asked for better results so far. I know they say it takes 1-3 months for final results so I will have to update here. If my results stay the same (I had level 5), I will not be having another treatment and I thought for sure with the amount I sweat before that I would need at least 2 treatments. I have been wearing my husbands t-shirts since I came home (to hide swelling and bruises) and haven’t had ANY wetness at all. I had seriously read every single review on Miradry and goggled everything I possible could’ve and I can say it was worth every single penny so far! Long-term results is all I am anxious about, so we’ll see how things go as time passes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2014

I had my first body scan for skin cancer and was impressed with how thorough Dr. Pentel's physician's assistant, Debbie Smith was. I have heard of other people going to their dermatologist and having lots of things removed, I was happy there was nothing that needed to be tested or removed despite how carefully I was examined. I was impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the entire medical and office staff. It is a pleasant office with very friendly and helpful staff. I now buy all of my Obagi products there and am planning on a cosmetic procedure in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2013

I initially saw Dr. Pentel for what we think was a spider bite. It had become necrotic in just a day or two and I was understandably freaked out. Dr. Pentel was very reassuring, and prescribed what was necessary to take care of it, and provided thorough instructions on wound care so it would heal properly. I did as instructed, and it healed completely without any complications. I've also seen Dr. Pentel for an adult acne flare-up, and to have a few suspicious leisions looked at. It's novel that when she does any biopsies, she also keeps an eye on the aesthetic side of things. Both Dr. Pentel and her staff were always helpful, professional, and pleasant. The wait time is sometimes a little longer than I would like, but in what medical office doesn't that happen? I can also say that Dr. Pentel has also done a lot of skin cancer care on my mom, and the care is excellent and any scarring is minimal. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2013

I have been seeing Dr. Pentel for the past 4 years and she has done a great job with the removal of several skin cancers that I have had. The office staff is professional and friendly. Dr. Pentel is so friendly and takes time with you when needed. You do not feel like she is trying to rush in and out of the appointment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2012

I initially saw Dr. Pentel for what we think was a spider bite. It had become necrotic in just a day or two and I was understandably freaked out. Dr. Pentel was very reassuring, and prescribed what was necessary to take care of it, and provided thorough instructions on wound care so it would heal properly. I did as instructed, and it healed completely without any complications. I've also seen Dr. Pentel for an adult acne flare-up, and to have a few suspicious leisions looked at. It's novel that when she does any biopsies, she also keeps an eye on the aesthetic side of things. Both Dr. Pentel and her staff were always helpful, professional, and pleasant. The wait time is sometimes a little longer than I would like, but in what medical office doesn't that happen? I can also say that Dr. Pentel has also done a lot of skin cancer care on my mom, and the care is excellent and any scarring is minimal. More