Patient Reviews

Reviews for Jacksonville, FL dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter49 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 29, 2020

Dr. Pentel is the Best Eye & Lip Fillers - Dr. Pentel is extremely accurate when placing fillers in my lips and my tear troughs. She spends time listening to my needs and making sure everything looks great. Her assistants are very kind and I love visiting Southside Dermatology. If you want to look your best, go see Dr. Pentel. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 18, 2019

The experience I had here was great. Debbie took great care of me and had amazing bed side mannerisms. Thank you so much for the time you took and the care you provided me with. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 29, 2019

Help for my Bruxism - I could not be happier with the service I received from Dr. Pentel and her staff today. They really do go above and beyond to make you feel relaxed and comfortable even though there are needles involved. I suffer from bruxism (teeth grinding that has caused several headaches and difficulty in basic functions of the jaw) and based on a recommendation from my dentist, I sought a highly skilled, professional injector who would listen to my needs. Dr. Pentel is that kind of doctor. I’ve had previous experiences with injectors pointing out my every flaw, wrinkle, or asymmetry. Dr. Pentel is NOT like that. She listens to why you’re visiting her and what service you are seeking- for aesthetic reasons or medical. Even her pricing is very fair and competitive for the work she does. I would highly recommend Dr. Pentel and look forward to my visit with her when I’m back in Jacksonville. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 18, 2019

I have always had a good experience with Dr Pentel. I have done several different treatments and my results have always been great. The staff are always really nice and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 29, 2019

Best in the Area - I did a lot of research into providers and did a few consultations. Mary Pentel's team was extremely professional and helped enormously. They were transparent with pricing and everything was easy to schedule. A few other places in the area threw prices around without showing anything on paper and the consultations seemed like a sales pitch. This is the clear choice for NE Florida and surrounding regions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 18, 2019

The office feels more like family. Everyone make you feel important. The team always explains what and why they are going to do something. Special shoutout to Katie Bernhardt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 18, 2019

I have going here for years. Debbie always does a great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 18, 2019

very nice staff and very detail my first time and I was very impressed More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 05, 2019

Nice, thorough and personal More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

I have been treated by Dr Pentel for over ten years. Her staff are professional and courteous. They are also friendly. Dr Pentel is very knowledgeable, helpful, and personable. She has performed multiple surgeries on me with no complications. She and her staff make me feel valued and treat me like family. I recommend her to anyone seeking top quality dermatology care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

I have been treated by Dr Pentel for over ten years. Her staff are professional and courteous. They are also friendly.Dr Pentel is very knowledgeable, helpful, and personable. She has performed multiple surgeries on me with no complications. She and her staff make me feel valued and treat me like family. I recommend her to anyone seeking top quality dermatology care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 13, 2019

I have been going to Dr. Pentel for over 20 years and think that her and her staff are great. I highly recommend her. She is very professional and has performed many Mohs surgery on me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 07, 2019

Always there when needed. Very accommodating and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 06, 2019

I recommend this office to everyone I know. Have been to several other derm offices in Jax and Dr Pentel and Debbie her ARNP are very informative and take a lot of time with their patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2019

Great experience with Bellafil - I have been a patient of Dr. Pentel for 8 years. She is awesome. She listens and tells you exactly what you need. I recently had Bellafil put in my cheeks and around my mouth. She did a fantastic job and I love the results. I also love that this will last for five years. If I feel I need more I can do that with no problem. I highly recommend bellafil and Dr. Pentel! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 22, 2019

It was my first time here and I like how I was taken care of. My Practitioner Julia answer all my questions concerning my issue and treated me with the upmost care. I can’t thank her enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2019

Love Dr Pental and her entire team!!! She does great work and the office staff is so efficient & kind! Would highly recommend the Spa as well with 5 stars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 06, 2019

Very well run office. Minimal wait times and the staff is well trained. Dr. Pentel stays up to date on new medical treatments and is always focused to stay on top of a patient's condition. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 05, 2019

Staff is attentive and caring. Easy to schedule appointments. My eczema is under control now under their care. Provided very good written instructions on care after treatment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

Terrific Results From A Great Dermatologist! - I've been a patient of Dr. Pentel since the early 2000's and have happily watched her practice grow & blossom over the years. Dr. Pentel is a kind, caring, honest, super smart professional who is on the cutting edge of skin care as you will see when you visit her office. I'm a 53 year old male with the appearance of a 43 year old male thanks to the guidance & treatments I've... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

For skin health or rejuvination, Dr. Pentel is the go-to dermatologist of North Florida - I saw Dr. Pentel the first visit for Botox and fillers. She did a fantastic job. Her shots were gentle. She has an artistic expertise of knowing just the right filler or adjustment to lift and take years off your face. She recommended filler for my under eyes. I absolutely love it. I don't have to cake makeup under there anymore, (which never worked because I was dealing with a shadow). This... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

Cares about her patients - Dr. Pentel and her staff are very caring towards their patients. They made me feel comfortable and assurred that my I get my full moneys worth for the treatments that I recieved. Highly Recommended! 5/5 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Dr. Pentel has been my dermatologist for over 10 years. I grew up in Florida without sunscreen so I'm at the office a lot. Staff is always professional and helpful. Multiple minor surgeries, never a problem. They also keep pace with latest technologies and treatments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Mary Pentel for about 10 years. During this time she has performed many procedures for me. She not only is great in terms of her specialty, she always makes me feel as though I am part of her family when it comes to the special care she has given to me. I have referred many friends to Southside Dermatology and will continue to do so. Every one of them is well pleased with the attention and treatment they have received. I am very happy to have the opportunity to write this review and express how very pleased my experience has been with this outstanding Doctor. All of the staff at Southside Dermatology have always been very polite and respectful. Do not hesitate to place your confidence in Southside Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2017

Dr. Mary Pentel is an excellent dermatologist. Her staff is courteous and professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 04, 2017

No other healthcare provider I've found has been more kind, more thorough, more competent, or more compassionate than Dr. Pentel. Truly someone dedicated the doing a great job and it trickles down to her staff as well. What a great experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 03, 2017

Lauren is absolutely fantastic and she just makes you feel so comfortable and at ease. Looking forward to my next appointment with this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2017

Always profession. I feel as though I am cared for as a patient with the best medical knowledge possible. Spotless office and met with a smile. Thank you for taking care of my families dermotology needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2017

Good follow up. Helpful and knowledgeable More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 26, 2017

When my Mom (90yo) and I moved back to Jax, we were looking for a good Dermatologist. Our Primary Care Physician recommended Dr. Pentel...saying she's was excellent! (His wife is a patient of Dr. Pentel's.) That was approximately 4 years ago...having been under her care these past years, Mom & I agree with him!! We see her quiet often, because melanoma runs in our Family...Mom's Father & Sister have already died from melanoma. Dr. Pentel's the best as far as we're concerned!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 24, 2017

I have been going to Dr. Pentel for years and she is awesome!! Her staff is kind and efficient. I would highly recommend this practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2017

Treatment has been skilled and appropriate. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2017

I have had multiple skin cancers. This office is professional and informative. Dr Pentel and her staff have been knowledgeable and skillful in removing my lesions. Front desk staff are excellent and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 21, 2017

Dr Pentel is excellent. She cares for her patient in every way and considers both the patient's comfort and outcome her priority. I highly recommend her. Great medical treatment and excellent spa service as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 14, 2017

There has been a large change of staff st the spa and laser center. The addition of Lorie Carter(board-certified family nurse practitioner) was such an asset to the team. Very knowledgeable and honest about what you shoul expect from any procedure. I have been going there to May Nguyen for my eyelashes for a long time. She is an amazing kind spirit. The procedure is quite long , so I always plan my schedule so that I can take a nap while having them put on. So worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 26, 2017

I found Dr. Pentel and her staff to be great. It was easy to make an appointment, I was early and had almost no wait time even on a busy day, her staff was very pleasant and listened carefully to my concerns, and Dr. Pentel spent a great deal of time with me and I felt like she really cared about me from a long term perspective. She discouraged me from making any quick decisions and even recommended I get a second opinion from another doctor of my choosing. What a great place! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

Dr. Pentel and her staff are all courteous, professional and friendly. So far I have seen Dr. Pentel, her PA and other assistants. All were very cued into my personal needs, and spent plenty of time to make sure I was comfortable and well taken care of. I have confidence in Dr. Pentel and her staff to keep me well informed and help me make the best decisions for my medical and cosmetic dermatology needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

She is the Best! Great personality and knowledgeable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

What I particularly like about Dr. Pentel is how careful she is to leave as little scarring as possible. I have had identical cancers removed from my shins. One was done by a different doctor. You can really see which was done by Dr. Pentel as the scarring is so minimal compared to the other one. I appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of Dr. Pentel and her staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 12, 2017

I have been her patient since near the beginning of her practice. She has detected all my cancers at very early stage so they could be easily treated. I had an issue the other morning so I called and was promptly seen and treated correctly that afternoon. Her NP knows what she's doing & when I need to see the doctor, I do. I've never had financial problems or been mistreated in any way. Staff is friendly and kind and concerned for you, too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2017

50th High School Reunion... Here I Come! - Jacksonville, FL - My history with Dr. Pentel goes back several years. I lived in Ponte Vedra Beach and had been to two other well-known medical/cosmetic dermatologists to help correct a flaw that was genetic in nature and neither doctor was able to achieve the appearance I knew was possible. I was about to give up when a friend said, “You need to make an appointment with Dr. Mary Pentel of Southside Dermatology.” I did, and she consulted with me and her plan was to achieve a natural looking appearance that included Botox/Dysport and a dermal filler. She definitely knows what she is talking about! She accomplished the exact natural appearance I knew was possible from cosmetic dermatologists in Hollywood, but I lived in Jacksonville! Thank you Dr. Mary for taking the time to understand my needs! Thank you for helping me to look my best! I will recommend you & your staff to all my friends! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 15, 2015

Dr. Pentel has found three melanoma during routine examinations. One was a satellite and the other two were primary. All were detected and removed before they reached the lymph system. I have been her patient for about 20 years. I see her once a year, and see a physician at M.D. Anderson six months after my visit to her. I literally trust her with my life.Anyone who lives in the Sunny South should be checked by a dermatologist twice a year.She also treats my wife. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2014

Recommended for Any Age Group and Ethnicity- Jacksonville, FL - I've been a patient with Dr.Pentel for years. Not only is she extremly smart and dedicated to her patients and practice as a Doctor... She is genuinely a caring person! Always in a great mood & attentive to your needs every visit. Being a skin of color, you would think there is not much to help but she has several options in office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2014

Fraxel Laser Treatment (1927) Was Worth Every Penny! -Jacksonville, FL - I chose to get the Fraxel laser treatment done because I had a good amount of skin discoloration on my face due to sun damage and was getting married in the near future and wanted to look my best. I couldn't be happier with the results! My skin discoloration is completely gone and so are the fine lines that once resided below my eyes! Dr. Pentel is the best Dermatologist I have ever seen. Her staff are all courteous and professional. I would recommend both this procedure and this doctor to all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2009

Amazing Results in Minutes - Jacksonville, FL - My doctor called me in for a training procedure in this new product. I had never had anything like this done before but i trusted my doctor. I was surprised when i saw the results and how quickly this product works. Within minutes I was wrinkle free. I had no swelling and just a small amount of redness in the areas that were injected. Although my doctor numbed the area that was to be injected some areas were more sensitive than others and the pain was uncomfortable. The pleasure of seeing myself wrinkle free everyday was well worth the pain. I totally recommend this to everyone that has deep smile lines and I would definitely have this procedure done again when the time comes. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 12, 2019

Always professional friendly service for the front desk, the techs and Dr. Debbie, always explains every procedure. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from I.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 29, 2016

Restalyne Silk, Belotero and Dysport for Under Eye, Tear Trough - Jacksonville, FL - I have always lived with deep lines and hollowness under my eyes. My eyes get puffy when im on my menses, which makes them look worse and this has been a huge insecurity of mine. ive been getting fillers for the past 3 yrs to help resolve this issue for me and so far I can only trust 2 Derm docs with my face (ive seen 8 total, betw NY, MD & FL). Yesterday, I went to Southside Dermatology and Dr Pentel rejuvenated my face, I am soo happy with the results. I know its only been 24hrs but I can see a huge difference compared to the injections Ive received in the past. To treat the swelling ive been icing my face for 20mins every 2 hours, taking tylenol every 6hrs and using vitamin k creme to reduce bruising. So far these are my results and I will continue to update. Dr Pentel used Restalyne Silk 1ml to my cheeks and layered the wrinkles under my eyes with belotero. More