Patient Reviews

Reviews for Jacksonville, FL Staff Our Team

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter55 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 29, 2020

Dr. Pentel is the Best Eye & Lip Fillers - Dr. Pentel is extremely accurate when placing fillers in my lips and my tear troughs. She spends time listening to my needs and making sure everything looks great. Her assistants are very kind and I love visiting Southside Dermatology. If you want to look your best, go see Dr. Pentel. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

This is a great place, and they always get me in and out fast. Appointments are quick and easy, and the system is super organized. In 2016, they treated my adult onset acne with great success. I've also recently gone back to work on other concerns. The medical staff is very knowledgable and patient, and they will work with you to ensure you get the results you are looking for. They are always ready to answer your questions, and they will promptly follow up with you for follow up appointments. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a new dermatologist or laser procedure. Fixing a wrong review. Accidentally cross posted about another non related business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

This is a great place, and they always get me in and out fast. Appointments are quick and easy, and the system is super organized. In 2016, they treated my adult onset acne with great success. I've also recently gone back to work on other concerns. The medical staff is very knowledgable and patient, and they will work with you to ensure you get the results you are looking for. They are always ready to answer your questions, and they will promptly follow up with you for follow up appointments. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a new dermatologist or laser procedure. Fixing a wrong review. Accidentally cross posted about another non related business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

Dr. Sosa provided me with comprehensive dermatology care. Her bedside manner is calming and caring. She took the time to answer all of my questions, which I greatly appreciated. Thank you Dr. Sosa and staff for your excellent care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 28, 2019

What an amazing practice and staff. On time, very kind and courteous... all around outstanding experience. I highly recommend...! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 18, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr Pentel for approximately 20 years. Her staff is always professional, friendly, and courteous. During my visit today Debbie went out of her way to accommodate my schedule of conflicts. Puneet has also assisted me today. She is always competent and friendly. An intern named Jeanelle also was very helpful and demonstrated empathy. I highly recommend Dr Pentel if you are looking for a Dermatologist for treatment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 18, 2019

What an amazing practice and staff. On time, very kind and courteous... all around outstanding experience.I highly recommend...! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 29, 2019

Best in the Area - I did a lot of research into providers and did a few consultations. Mary Pentel's team was extremely professional and helped enormously. They were transparent with pricing and everything was easy to schedule. A few other places in the area threw prices around without showing anything on paper and the consultations seemed like a sales pitch. This is the clear choice for NE Florida and surrounding regions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 16, 2019

The clear choice for Jax and surrounding areas. Dr. Pentel's team was extremely professional and helpful from the first phone call to the series of treatments.  I had a few other consults at other places in town and Southside Dermatology and Laser Center was the clear choice.  Their pricing is transparent and there was no pressure during the consultation.    I had good results from the suggested treatment.  I would recommend to friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 18, 2019

The staff was courteous, professional and timely. When I arrived for my appointments everything was ready for my treatments. I bought a combo of three for hair removal and cauterization, The dermatologist assistant was very attentive to detail and took care of my needs. If the need arises, I will go back. Nice place. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 18, 2019

The office feels more like family. Everyone make you feel important. The team always explains what and why they are going to do something. Special shoutout to Katie Bernhardt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 18, 2019

I have had acne my entire life. Dr Pentel and her team at Southside dermatology helped me completely clear up my acne. They make an effort to always remember your name and take care of you like family. They truly do what is best for you. I wouldn’t go to any other dermatologist in Jacksonville. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 28, 2019

I have been going to Doctor Pentel and her team for several years. Her staff is excellent. Would recommend them to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 18, 2019

I have been going to Doctor Pentel and her team for several years. Her staff is excellent. Would recommend them to anyone! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 18, 2019

I was pleased with the courtesy, knowledge, and patient manner of the staff during my visit. When I contacted the office via their website, I received a prompt response. I was concerned that the lobby area seating is not set up safely and may be in violation of fire code. I had difficulty getting to and from a chair, as the rows were very close together. I am average-sized and able-bodied, so I think this could be dangerous for patients who have limited mobility. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

I have been treated by Dr Pentel for over ten years. Her staff are professional and courteous. They are also friendly. Dr Pentel is very knowledgeable, helpful, and personable. She has performed multiple surgeries on me with no complications. She and her staff make me feel valued and treat me like family. I recommend her to anyone seeking top quality dermatology care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

My visits are with Katie Bernhardt, PA-C. I am very pleased with her and the staff. They are always courteous and professional. I would highly recommend this practice More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

The staff is very professional/nice. All their equipment/products are top notch. You couldn't ask for better service. Dr. Pentel is very kind and listens to all your concerns. If you need anything done Lori is your go to girl. She is very kind, listens to your wants and needs, and is very knowledgeable. You can't help but love her. This place is the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

I have been treated by Dr Pentel for over ten years. Her staff are professional and courteous. They are also friendly.Dr Pentel is very knowledgeable, helpful, and personable. She has performed multiple surgeries on me with no complications. She and her staff make me feel valued and treat me like family. I recommend her to anyone seeking top quality dermatology care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

What a Great experience,Dr.. Pentel and her staff were fabulous, if you're having a bad day just stop by the office you'll see all the smiles and friendly people you would ever want. Dr. Patel has assembled a wonderful wonderful staff of loving caring people that truly care about your situation and treat you so professionally. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

I am a long-time customer, and appreciate the professionalism of the staff, as well as the prompt service at my appointments. I recommend this office for your dermatology needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

The staff is very professional/nice. All their equipment/products are top notch. You couldn't ask for better service. Dr. Pentel is very kind and listens to all your concerns. If you need anything done Lori is your go to girl. She is very kind, listens to your wants and needs, and is very knowledgeable. You can't help but love her. This place is the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

My visits are with Katie Bernhardt, PA-C. I am very pleased with her and the staff. They are always courteous and professional. I would highly recommend this practice More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

Very friendly staff...I was taken straight back and I had my very large, painful skin tag removed painlessly and another concern addressed as well...I highly recommend this place for all of your skin care needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

Always right on with my examination and treatments. Very friendly and courteous staff and highly recommend them for any skin treatment and procedure you might need. They follow up with you after surgery and send reminders when time to be checked for skin cancer or whatever condition you might have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 06, 2019

Highly recommend Southside Dermatology and Laser Center - I have been a patient of Dr. Pentel's for over 20 years and she is and always has been extremely professional, has a wonderful bedside manner and is thoughtful is evaluating a treatment plan for problem areas.Today I was in her office with my mother-in-law and she took time to explain things to her and treat her effectively and efficiently. She is caring not only to her patients but also in our community. Her staff in the office and the laser center is friendly and helpful so if you need a dermatological service you should call Southside Dermatology! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 06, 2019

the friendliness and professionalism shown by the staff,they tell you what they're doing and why and take away some of your anxiety...... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2019

Love Dr Pental and her entire team!!! She does great work and the office staff is so efficient & kind! Would highly recommend the Spa as well with 5 stars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 03, 2019

This place provides excellent customer support as well as their skin care services. They stay very busy so make sure to make your appointments months or weeks prior to coming in. The dermatologist as well as their staff are very knowledgeable and helpful in every aspect. The mole removal treatment was painless and although some came back which was expected. I was still satisfied with the experience here and highly recommend it. The office is small but fully equipped and super clean. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

I can honestly say laser hair removal gives me true anxiety because of the pain. Lorie is incredible! She numbed me an hour before and really made sure I was comfy with ice. I have done full body and I can really say the machines here are much more advanced as well and hurt less. Thank you for laughing with me and doing my little treatments with care every time I come! Xoxo More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 06, 2018

I went there for a chemical peel and found Lauren to be super helpful and down to earth. She did not rush and she answered all of my questions. She even gives you her email so you can send questions or concerns anytime after your procedure! (and I have, several times!) I usually don't notice much difference after one peel, but I definitely do this time. And they even have a machine that takes "pictures" of your face to track progress. This is so exciting since sometimes the gradual changes can be hard to see on your own. Go see Lauren! It's worth it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

For skin health or rejuvination, Dr. Pentel is the go-to dermatologist of North Florida - I saw Dr. Pentel the first visit for Botox and fillers. She did a fantastic job. Her shots were gentle. She has an artistic expertise of knowing just the right filler or adjustment to lift and take years off your face. She recommended filler for my under eyes. I absolutely love it. I don't have to cake makeup under there anymore, (which never worked because I was dealing with a shadow). This... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Very professional and courteous! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

I have been a patient of Dr. Mary Pentel for about 10 years. During this time she has performed many procedures for me. She not only is great in terms of her specialty, she always makes me feel as though I am part of her family when it comes to the special care she has given to me. I have referred many friends to Southside Dermatology and will continue to do so. Every one of them is well pleased with the attention and treatment they have received. I am very happy to have the opportunity to write this review and express how very pleased my experience has been with this outstanding Doctor. All of the staff at Southside Dermatology have always been very polite and respectful. Do not hesitate to place your confidence in Southside Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Such high quality service and everyone is so friendly. Our whole family benefits from Southside Dermatology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

The staff and Doctors are always courteous and professional in their demeanor. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Always friendly, always speedy. Consistently impeccable in cleanliness, courtesy, and professionalism. Wouldn’t go anywhere else! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Dr Pentel and staff were absolutely amazing. She is very innovative with an amazing, supportive staff that makes it hard to leave after an appointment. The equipment used is state of the art and all procedures appear to be minimally invasive. I would highly recommend her and her staff to anyone, and especially my male friends. Men should begin to care more about there skin and not feel less if they want to correct blemishes. Dr Pentel and staff makes it easy, for a man, to communicate these concerns. This team is the best team in North Florida and they have my highest recommendation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Thorough, considerate, kind office staff and specialists. Many experiences in this office over many years. Highly recommend this practice to serve your needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2017

Dr. Mary Pentel is an excellent dermatologist. Her staff is courteous and professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 05, 2017

Dr. Pentel... As a society, we are quick to criticize but so rarely take the time to offer our appreciation for someone. I'd like to take the time now to let you know that one of your staff members, Lauren Perilli, is an outstanding member of your team. I went to Lauren for the first time in March for a facial and was so impressed with her abilities as well as her personality that I decided to purchase the Deluxe Membership for monthly ZO facials. Her encouragement for me t...o purchase the ZO products and use them consistently has made a tremendous difference in both the appearance and the feel of my skin. Coming to the Center for my facial is one of the highlights of my month! Lauren and I talk and laugh and just have the best time while she provides one of the best facial treatments I've ever experienced. She's one of the best and I just wanted you to know how much I appreciate her! Elaine More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 26, 2017

When my Mom (90yo) and I moved back to Jax, we were looking for a good Dermatologist. Our Primary Care Physician recommended Dr. Pentel...saying she's was excellent! (His wife is a patient of Dr. Pentel's.) That was approximately 4 years ago...having been under her care these past years, Mom & I agree with him!! We see her quiet often, because melanoma runs in our Family...Mom's Father & Sister have already died from melanoma. Dr. Pentel's the best as far as we're concerned!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 14, 2017

There has been a large change of staff st the spa and laser center. The addition of Lorie Carter(board-certified family nurse practitioner) was such an asset to the team. Very knowledgeable and honest about what you shoul expect from any procedure. I have been going there to May Nguyen for my eyelashes for a long time. She is an amazing kind spirit. The procedure is quite long , so I always plan my schedule so that I can take a nap while having them put on. So worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 26, 2017

I found Dr. Pentel and her staff to be great. It was easy to make an appointment, I was early and had almost no wait time even on a busy day, her staff was very pleasant and listened carefully to my concerns, and Dr. Pentel spent a great deal of time with me and I felt like she really cared about me from a long term perspective. She discouraged me from making any quick decisions and even recommended I get a second opinion from another doctor of my choosing. What a great place! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

Dr. Pentel and her staff are all courteous, professional and friendly. So far I have seen Dr. Pentel, her PA and other assistants. All were very cued into my personal needs, and spent plenty of time to make sure I was comfortable and well taken care of. I have confidence in Dr. Pentel and her staff to keep me well informed and help me make the best decisions for my medical and cosmetic dermatology needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

I went to Southside Dermatology to have a spot on my skin checked. When I first got there, they numbed it (which hurt for about 5 seconds), then sliced it off really quickly, (I didn't feel a thing). They said I wouldn't hear from them if it was negative. If positive, they'd call me (which they did in 3 days). I had some issues with my insurance but Diane at the front desk straightened it out for me in a day. I was nervous but basically when I went back they did the same thing but had to keep checking it under a microscope to be sure to get it all. It took about 4 hours total, but it was not as big a deal as I had pictured it in my mind. Dr. Pentel has an easy going demeanor and was very friendly. I still have staples that need to come out, but after 24 hours I have absolutely no pain at all. Overall, I'm very happy with my experiences with Southside Dermatology so far. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2017

50th High School Reunion... Here I Come! - Jacksonville, FL - My history with Dr. Pentel goes back several years. I lived in Ponte Vedra Beach and had been to two other well-known medical/cosmetic dermatologists to help correct a flaw that was genetic in nature and neither doctor was able to achieve the appearance I knew was possible. I was about to give up when a friend said, “You need to make an appointment with Dr. Mary Pentel of Southside Dermatology.” I did, and she consulted with me and her plan was to achieve a natural looking appearance that included Botox/Dysport and a dermal filler. She definitely knows what she is talking about! She accomplished the exact natural appearance I knew was possible from cosmetic dermatologists in Hollywood, but I lived in Jacksonville! Thank you Dr. Mary for taking the time to understand my needs! Thank you for helping me to look my best! I will recommend you & your staff to all my friends! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from I.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 29, 2016

Restalyne Silk, Belotero and Dysport for Under Eye, Tear Trough - Jacksonville, FL - I have always lived with deep lines and hollowness under my eyes. My eyes get puffy when im on my menses, which makes them look worse and this has been a huge insecurity of mine. ive been getting fillers for the past 3 yrs to help resolve this issue for me and so far I can only trust 2 Derm docs with my face (ive seen 8 total, betw NY, MD & FL). Yesterday, I went to Southside Dermatology and Dr Pentel rejuvenated my face, I am soo happy with the results. I know its only been 24hrs but I can see a huge difference compared to the injections Ive received in the past. To treat the swelling ive been icing my face for 20mins every 2 hours, taking tylenol every 6hrs and using vitamin k creme to reduce bruising. So far these are my results and I will continue to update. Dr Pentel used Restalyne Silk 1ml to my cheeks and layered the wrinkles under my eyes with belotero. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 19, 2014

They did a great job!! Love this practice they really go the extra mile to make your visit comfortable:-) I felt they knew their stuff and really cared about the concerns of the patient  I had the microdermabrasion with the vitamin c infusion and my skin looked great :-) I will definitely be returning for more treatments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2014

Recommended for Any Age Group and Ethnicity- Jacksonville, FL - I've been a patient with Dr.Pentel for years. Not only is she extremly smart and dedicated to her patients and practice as a Doctor... She is genuinely a caring person! Always in a great mood & attentive to your needs every visit. Being a skin of color, you would think there is not much to help but she has several options in office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2014

Fraxel Laser Treatment (1927) Was Worth Every Penny! -Jacksonville, FL - I chose to get the Fraxel laser treatment done because I had a good amount of skin discoloration on my face due to sun damage and was getting married in the near future and wanted to look my best. I couldn't be happier with the results! My skin discoloration is completely gone and so are the fine lines that once resided below my eyes! Dr. Pentel is the best Dermatologist I have ever seen. Her staff are all courteous and professional. I would recommend both this procedure and this doctor to all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2014

I have had a wonderful experience every time I have been at Southside Dermatology. I recently started getting the Novalash put on and it's amazing. Becky is wonderful. She takes her time and is very meticulous. She is also very friendly and makes sitting in the chair for over an hour feel fun. Becky also does an excellent job on other asthetic services including facials and microdermabrasion. If you need a make up consultation, she is great at that too! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I'm not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More