Patient Reviews

Reviews for Jacksonville, FL Staff Our Team Dermatology Services Services

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter13 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 20, 2020

My skin and skincare regime have improved so much since I started coming here. I have oily acne prone stressed skin. I started with Arlene and along with my facials, she picked out products that are suited for my skin type. When Arlene left, I got assigned to May and she has really pushed it further with helping me get results! She is so sweet and knowledgeable!! I highly recommend the hydra facial and derma-planning, it’s less time and faster results. Things don’t improve overnight but trust the process and trust them and you will see a difference in your skin. You have to do your part too with being consistent with your skincare regime or you are just waiting your money. Everyone is so nice in the office and they let you know of specials they have coming up. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 14, 2020

I have been coming to Southside Dermatology for 20 years. They are professional but fun and thorough! Being a lifelong resident of Florida the sun has done its damage but Dr. Pentel and her staff have brought me through skin cancer and taught me the right way to enjoy our Florida sun... I highly recommend them for your family... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 03, 2020

This is a great place, and they always get me in and out fast. Appointments are quick and easy, and the system is super organized. In 2016, they treated my adult onset acne with great success. I've also recently gone back to work on other concerns. The medical staff is very knowledgable and patient, and they will work with you to ensure you get the results you are looking for. They are always ready to answer your questions, and they will promptly follow up with you for follow up appointments. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a new dermatologist or laser procedure. Fixing a wrong review. Accidentally cross posted about another non related business. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 18, 2019

I have had acne my entire life. Dr Pentel and her team at Southside dermatology helped me completely clear up my acne. They make an effort to always remember your name and take care of you like family. They truly do what is best for you. I wouldn’t go to any other dermatologist in Jacksonville. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

Always right on with my examination and treatments. Very friendly and courteous staff and highly recommend them for any skin treatment and procedure you might need. They follow up with you after surgery and send reminders when time to be checked for skin cancer or whatever condition you might have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 17, 2017

So Far, So Good! - I am a 30 year old female who is 5'4 and about 140lbs. I eat right, exercise, and live a healthy lifestyle. Every since I was about 15 (puberty time) I have noticed my armpits dripped sweat. Nothing that smelled, just liquid, like a dripping faucet. I only wear tank tops and when its cold i'll put a jacket over a tank top or get a sweater that makes me look like a flying squirrel when I put my arms out. Whether I'm hot or cold, I drip. My right arm has always been worse and anxiety definitely makes it worse. I have had Botox one time (and it worked for about 8 months) but haven't done it again because I can't get my insurance to cover it, and its expensive. About a month ago I started researching the surgery to get my sweat glands removed. I was sick of not being able to wear what I wanted, having to literally live my life around how my armpits would drip. I even have napkins in the car that I dab myself with before I go into any place. Its embarrassing and the thought of going back to school or work (now that my kids are getting older) was weighing on my mind because of my sweat. It sounds so silly, but anyone who suffers with this understands the way I feel. I looked up a few places and decided with the Spa and Laser center at Southside Dermatology in Jacksonville, FL, about a 3-hour drive from my house. They were clean and sooo helpful/easy to ask questions. They use tumescent numbing after 4 lidocaine shots (at injection sites of tumescent), after gridding my armpit. The pain was about a level 3 for the lidocaine shots, and I didn’t feel a thing for the entire procedure. My husband drove me home and I iced my pits for 20 on/20 off for the remainder of the day. They were swollen and bruised, but 0 pain. She even told me to take something to sleep, but I didn’t, and I slept the entire night just fine. The next day they were very swollen. Like, half a grapefruit under each armpit swollen. I was a tiny bit worried but I had no hot/red spots and still 0 pain. Everything looked good so I guess it was normal. I wouldn’t have wanted to work or anything, as I felt uncomfortable from the swelling, so I just hung out all day. Day 3 was considerably less swollen, I even cleaned my house (vacuuming, mopping, etc). Today is day 4. They’re a little swollen and still numb, but not bad. I went for a 3 mile run and I feel great. Ok, so now for results. I haven’t worn deodorant since the day before my procedure. I have 0 smell and I haven’t dripped one single drop. I was moist under both armpits after my run today, but it was normal sweating, not excessive. If these results continue I will just cry from being so happy. I could not have asked for better results so far. I know they say it takes 1-3 months for final results so I will have to update here. If my results stay the same (I had level 5), I will not be having another treatment and I thought for sure with the amount I sweat before that I would need at least 2 treatments. I have been wearing my husbands t-shirts since I came home (to hide swelling and bruises) and haven’t had ANY wetness at all. I had seriously read every single review on Miradry and goggled everything I possible could’ve and I can say it was worth every single penny so far! Long-term results is all I am anxious about, so we’ll see how things go as time passes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.B.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2016

I had my annual cancer skin screening with Kalie. My wait time was relatively short and the screening was brief and thorough. Kalie is very professional and you'll feel at ease immediately. I had a suspicious mole removed and this was done quickly and expertly. I also have pretty severe jawline acne and requested (and was given) a prescription for Retin-A, which has worked wonderfully for me in the past. You can take your prescription right over to the spa side (which is lovely) but there is no pressure to buy the prescription from them, but it IS nice to have it right there. I was overall very pleased with my visit and will return as the need arises. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I’m not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I'm not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More