Patient Reviews

Reviews for Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter12 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 29, 2020

Dr. Pentel is the Best Eye & Lip Fillers - Dr. Pentel is extremely accurate when placing fillers in my lips and my tear troughs. She spends time listening to my needs and making sure everything looks great. Her assistants are very kind and I love visiting Southside Dermatology. If you want to look your best, go see Dr. Pentel. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 29, 2019

Help for my Bruxism - I could not be happier with the service I received from Dr. Pentel and her staff today. They really do go above and beyond to make you feel relaxed and comfortable even though there are needles involved. I suffer from bruxism (teeth grinding that has caused several headaches and difficulty in basic functions of the jaw) and based on a recommendation from my dentist, I sought a highly skilled, professional injector who would listen to my needs. Dr. Pentel is that kind of doctor. I’ve had previous experiences with injectors pointing out my every flaw, wrinkle, or asymmetry. Dr. Pentel is NOT like that. She listens to why you’re visiting her and what service you are seeking- for aesthetic reasons or medical. Even her pricing is very fair and competitive for the work she does. I would highly recommend Dr. Pentel and look forward to my visit with her when I’m back in Jacksonville. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 29, 2019

Best in the Area - I did a lot of research into providers and did a few consultations. Mary Pentel's team was extremely professional and helped enormously. They were transparent with pricing and everything was easy to schedule. A few other places in the area threw prices around without showing anything on paper and the consultations seemed like a sales pitch. This is the clear choice for NE Florida and surrounding regions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2019

Great experience with Bellafil - I have been a patient of Dr. Pentel for 8 years. She is awesome. She listens and tells you exactly what you need. I recently had Bellafil put in my cheeks and around my mouth. She did a fantastic job and I love the results. I also love that this will last for five years. If I feel I need more I can do that with no problem. I highly recommend bellafil and Dr. Pentel! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

Terrific Results From A Great Dermatologist! - I've been a patient of Dr. Pentel since the early 2000's and have happily watched her practice grow & blossom over the years. Dr. Pentel is a kind, caring, honest, super smart professional who is on the cutting edge of skin care as you will see when you visit her office. I'm a 53 year old male with the appearance of a 43 year old male thanks to the guidance & treatments I've... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

For skin health or rejuvination, Dr. Pentel is the go-to dermatologist of North Florida - I saw Dr. Pentel the first visit for Botox and fillers. She did a fantastic job. Her shots were gentle. She has an artistic expertise of knowing just the right filler or adjustment to lift and take years off your face. She recommended filler for my under eyes. I absolutely love it. I don't have to cake makeup under there anymore, (which never worked because I was dealing with a shadow). This... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2018

Cares about her patients - Dr. Pentel and her staff are very caring towards their patients. They made me feel comfortable and assurred that my I get my full moneys worth for the treatments that I recieved. Highly Recommended! 5/5 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2017

50th High School Reunion... Here I Come! - Jacksonville, FL - My history with Dr. Pentel goes back several years. I lived in Ponte Vedra Beach and had been to two other well-known medical/cosmetic dermatologists to help correct a flaw that was genetic in nature and neither doctor was able to achieve the appearance I knew was possible. I was about to give up when a friend said, “You need to make an appointment with Dr. Mary Pentel of Southside Dermatology.” I did, and she consulted with me and her plan was to achieve a natural looking appearance that included Botox/Dysport and a dermal filler. She definitely knows what she is talking about! She accomplished the exact natural appearance I knew was possible from cosmetic dermatologists in Hollywood, but I lived in Jacksonville! Thank you Dr. Mary for taking the time to understand my needs! Thank you for helping me to look my best! I will recommend you & your staff to all my friends! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2014

Recommended for Any Age Group and Ethnicity- Jacksonville, FL - I've been a patient with Dr.Pentel for years. Not only is she extremly smart and dedicated to her patients and practice as a Doctor... She is genuinely a caring person! Always in a great mood & attentive to your needs every visit. Being a skin of color, you would think there is not much to help but she has several options in office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2014

Fraxel Laser Treatment (1927) Was Worth Every Penny! -Jacksonville, FL - I chose to get the Fraxel laser treatment done because I had a good amount of skin discoloration on my face due to sun damage and was getting married in the near future and wanted to look my best. I couldn't be happier with the results! My skin discoloration is completely gone and so are the fine lines that once resided below my eyes! Dr. Pentel is the best Dermatologist I have ever seen. Her staff are all courteous and professional. I would recommend both this procedure and this doctor to all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 01, 2009

Amazing Results in Minutes - Jacksonville, FL - My doctor called me in for a training procedure in this new product. I had never had anything like this done before but i trusted my doctor. I was surprised when i saw the results and how quickly this product works. Within minutes I was wrinkle free. I had no swelling and just a small amount of redness in the areas that were injected. Although my doctor numbed the area that was to be injected some areas were more sensitive than others and the pain was uncomfortable. The pleasure of seeing myself wrinkle free everyday was well worth the pain. I totally recommend this to everyone that has deep smile lines and I would definitely have this procedure done again when the time comes. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from I.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 29, 2016

Restalyne Silk, Belotero and Dysport for Under Eye, Tear Trough - Jacksonville, FL - I have always lived with deep lines and hollowness under my eyes. My eyes get puffy when im on my menses, which makes them look worse and this has been a huge insecurity of mine. ive been getting fillers for the past 3 yrs to help resolve this issue for me and so far I can only trust 2 Derm docs with my face (ive seen 8 total, betw NY, MD & FL). Yesterday, I went to Southside Dermatology and Dr Pentel rejuvenated my face, I am soo happy with the results. I know its only been 24hrs but I can see a huge difference compared to the injections Ive received in the past. To treat the swelling ive been icing my face for 20mins every 2 hours, taking tylenol every 6hrs and using vitamin k creme to reduce bruising. So far these are my results and I will continue to update. Dr Pentel used Restalyne Silk 1ml to my cheeks and layered the wrinkles under my eyes with belotero. More