Patient Reviews

Reviews for Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter49 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 02, 2020

Dr. Pentel is awesome. It was a quick lip filler but she was detail. Would definitely recommend and all the staff are sweet and very welcoming. Trying to save figure out what I do next but let me save first lol More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 03, 2020

Dr Pentel is great!  I have been to several docs since moving to Jacksonville and am so happy to have found her! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 30, 2020

Dr. Katie and Brittany. Honest and thorough assessment of my concerns. Did not attempt too sell products. Straightforward and kind. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2020

Thank you for scheduling me so quickly. I had great experience with friendly and happy staff. I have already recommended my daughter make an appointment. Super great center. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 14, 2020

Been seeing KAtie for a couple years now.  Very satisfied her and the staff..  Katie takes her time to explain, procedures before and after results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2020

Everyone in the office was wonderful and very professional! Kristin Dubb NP, was extremely professional, precise and gentle! She was patient and addressed all my concerns! I am extremely happy with my procedure! I would highly recommend her to my friends!! I look forward to future procedures with Kristin! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2020

I appreciate the staff. They answered my questions professionally and were understanding of the sensitive nature of some questions. So happy to meet a wonderful group of professional and personable women. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 23, 2020

I’m so impressed with the staff at Southside Dermatology. Julia is handling my ongoing treatment. Dr. Pentel explained my options fully. Willette is caring and kind. I can’t say enough good things about my experiences there.Kim H. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 18, 2020

I’ve been going to Dr Pentel’s practice for many years. Very good staff! They are very careful n thorough With every check up. Had many procedures done (Basil cell removal) and all have had successful recoveries! Any beauty procedures can be done also!!I appreciate all the staff at this practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 07, 2020

Life changing!!! I was struggling with melasma for years. It was affecting my self confidence. I started getting chemical treatments with Lauri and started a skin care regimen at home. My melasma completely disappeared!! Most recently I visited their new beaches location and got a hydrofacial by Judi. Again, my results are amazing!  I absolutely love this place!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2020

Always a wonderful experience with educated and experienced staff with an excellent approach; friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Always consistent, always a pleasure! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2020

Dr Sosa Seda was amazing! She was kind, compassionate and very capable! I would highly recommend, she’s the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 10, 2020

I have done microneedling rf, halo laser, lip fillers and cheek fillers here and was extremely pleased with the results. I get compliments on my complexion all the time from friends and family and co workers often, thanks to the work I have done here.  The pricing is competitive but its worth it to look and feel better about yourself. Dont trust a med spa. Goto a real Dr. The office is always clean and professional. Dr. Pentel has lots of lasers for scarring as well and most importantly, they work! My scarring has improved at least 50% since I started treatments here. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2020

The cosmetic center has a separate entrance with a relaxing atmosphere. There are so many options for anything you want. Everyone is courteous and helpful. The nurse practitioners do great work. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 02, 2020

Staff are Professional, appointment is fast, location is accessible. Met Dr Sosa,explained the plan of care well. Thye kept you informed of the next steps while you are working. I am a nurse, finally i got the treatment plans that i was hoping for my husband that was not done in 2 urgent cares that i went to and  his primary care provider.Waiting time fr adm to discharge : 1 hour, not bad More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 02, 2020

I just had the best experience with under eye fillers!!  Very pleased with Dr.Pentel and her staff, no down time-instant results! I wish I hadn’t waited so long! I’m excited that she will be opening a office at the Beaches! I will be able to pop in at my lunch hour!Thank you , Brenda P More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2020

We saw Dr. Sosa (new to us) and the most marvelous nurse, Brittany. They were running behind significantly even though we had an appointment soon after lunch break and I was concerned it would translate into a rushed visit for the two of us. I worried for nothing; Brittany and Dr. Sosa were wonderful. They patiently listened to our medical concerns and took time offering solutions and explaining options. I had one procedure which was professionally handled. Both ladies were capable yet approachable with good humor. Everyone we encountered (patients and medical professionals) was masked. There were hand sanitizers available everywhere. I left feeling complete confidence in the team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 18, 2020

Dr Pentel & her staff have always been very caring while addressing all of my medical needs.  Ted, Chloe and Willette take the time to explain things to me, and patiently answer my many questions. I highly recommend Southside Dermatology to anyone who needs excellent skin care and skin cancer screening. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 26, 2020

I have had Botox and MiraDry at this location.  Every experience has been amazing! The staff is wonderful, friendly, and helpful.  They walk you through the procedure before and follow up after.  I have recommended Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center to several friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 18, 2019

I've been going here for about a year now. I had some stubborn hyperpigmentation spots that I couldn't get rid of on my own. April my esthetician suggested I do a series of peels. This was expensive but luckily they had a membership that made this afforable for me. And IT WORKED. Now I get peels or a hydrofacial just as maintenance and to give me that glow factor. April is great at making me feel comfortable and she always keeps me updated on the latest products and events. She's the BEST!!! Some things I DONT LIKE is they took away the membership program. Now I can't go as often as I'd like bc it's just not affordable for the everyday person. A peel is 170$ and a facial is 180$. The membership also gave u discounts on the awesome products. They hardly ever run sales on fillers for under eyes. I wish they would bring back the membership. Either way this won't stop me from coming back, I just won't come back as often as I'd like. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 18, 2019

I’ve been going here for about a year now. I had some stubborn hyperpigmentation spots that I couldn’t get rid of on my own. April my esthetician suggested I do a series of peels. This was expensive but luckily they had a membership that made this afforable for me. And IT WORKED. Now I get peels or a hydrofacial just as maintenance and to give me that glow factor. April is great at making me feel comfortable and she always keeps me updated on the latest products and events. She’s the BEST!!! Some things I DONT LIKE is they took away the membership program. Now I can’t go as often as I’d like bc it’s just not affordable for the everyday person. A peel is 170$ and a facial is 180$. The membership also gave u discounts on the awesome products. They hardly ever run sales on fillers for under eyes. I wish they would bring back the membership. Either way this won’t stop me from coming back, I just won’t come back as often as I’d like. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 16, 2019

The clear choice for Jax and surrounding areas. Dr. Pentel's team was extremely professional and helpful from the first phone call to the series of treatments.  I had a few other consults at other places in town and Southside Dermatology and Laser Center was the clear choice.  Their pricing is transparent and there was no pressure during the consultation.    I had good results from the suggested treatment.  I would recommend to friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 16, 2019

The clear choice for Jax and surrounding areas. Dr. Pentel’s team was extremely professional and helpful from the first phone call to the series of treatments.  I had a few other consults at other places in town and Southside Dermatology and Laser Center was the clear choice.  Their pricing is transparent and there was no pressure during the consultation.    I had good results from the suggested treatment.  I would recommend to friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 02, 2019

I received a  microneedling RF treatment with PRP here by Katy and was very pleased with the results.  The pricing is competitive and they offer discounts if you purchase a package. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 03, 2019

This place provides excellent customer support as well as their skin care services. They stay very busy so make sure to make your appointments months or weeks prior to coming in. The dermatologist as well as their staff are very knowledgeable and helpful in every aspect. The mole removal treatment was painless and although some came back which was expected. I was still satisfied with the experience here and highly recommend it. The office is small but fully equipped and super clean. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

I can honestly say laser hair removal gives me true anxiety because of the pain. Lorie is incredible! She numbed me an hour before and really made sure I was comfy with ice. I have done full body and I can really say the machines here are much more advanced as well and hurt less. Thank you for laughing with me and doing my little treatments with care every time I come! Xoxo More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2018

I've been seeing Dr. Pentel for injectable fillers since 2016. Dr. Pentel and her staff are always so friendly and welcoming. The professionalism and expertise of the staff and herself are exactly what I was looking for regarding cosmetic services. After every procedure, Dr. Pentel reminds me that she wants me to be happy with the results and asks that I call if I encounter any problems. I've seen reviews complaining of costs, but don't expect to pay very cheap prices and be happy with the results. The costs of procedures at this facility are priced very competitively. I'm only 24 and had never gotten injectable fillers before seeing Dr. Pentel. She was the first doctor that I allowed to perform injectable fillers on my lips and cheeks and she will be the only doctor that I see for cosmetic procedures for a very long time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2018

I’ve been seeing Dr. Pentel for injectable fillers since 2016. Dr. Pentel and her staff are always so friendly and welcoming. The professionalism and expertise of the staff and herself are exactly what I was looking for regarding cosmetic services. After every procedure, Dr. Pentel reminds me that she wants me to be happy with the results and asks that I call if I encounter any problems. I’ve seen reviews complaining of costs, but don’t expect to pay very cheap prices and be happy with the results. The costs of procedures at this facility are priced very competitively. I’m only 24 and had never gotten injectable fillers before seeing Dr. Pentel. She was the first doctor that I allowed to perform injectable fillers on my lips and cheeks and she will be the only doctor that I see for cosmetic procedures for a very long time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2018

Love this office!!!!They make you feel like family, and not just a number. From the office staff , to the My first visit I got fillers, and loved they didn't push products or make you feel money hungry. I received a call the following morning to be sure everything went ok , and to see if I had any questions. My second visit, I started my first fraxel treatment on my tummy tuck scar. Lorie the PA was very informative, and made me feel extremely at ease. Again, the following morning I received a follow up call from Lorie herself to be sure I was doing ok following the procedure.  I have already seen great results and can't wait to see this thru to the end. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2018

Love this office!!!!They make you feel like family, and not just a number. From the office staff , to the My first visit I got fillers, and loved they didn’t push products or make you feel money hungry. I received a call the following morning to be sure everything went ok , and to see if I had any questions. My second visit, I started my first fraxel treatment on my tummy tuck scar. Lorie the PA was very informative, and made me feel extremely at ease. Again, the following morning I received a follow up call from Lorie herself to be sure I was doing ok following the procedure.  I have already seen great results and can’t wait to see this thru to the end. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2017

From the receptionist desk to the consult room, this office is beautiful.  Dr Pentel and her assistant with the goddess locs are very professional and gorgeous. Everyone looks like they just left the MAC makeup counter. "Flawless". Dr Pentel was very informative and caring. She took her time during the appt to address all of my concerns. Great staff!IF ONLY THEY ACCEPTED TRICARE!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 28, 2017

From the receptionist desk to the consult room, this office is beautiful.  Dr Pentel and her assistant with the goddess locs are very professional and gorgeous. Everyone looks like they just left the MAC makeup counter. "Flawless". Dr Pentel was very informative and caring. She took her time during the appt to address all of my concerns. Great staff! IF ONLY THEY ACCEPTED TRICARE!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 23, 2017

Dr. Mary Pentel is an excellent dermatologist. Her staff is courteous and professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 13, 2017

I've loved coming to Southside Derm for the past 2 years for acne, and my skin is now so clear! My sister has also come here for acne as well and she has had a great experience. Debbie Smith and her MAs are so personable and the setting is immaculate. There is a dermatology side which is very clean and efficient and the spa side is relaxing and beautiful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 13, 2017

I’ve loved coming to Southside Derm for the past 2 years for acne, and my skin is now so clear! My sister has also come here for acne as well and she has had a great experience. Debbie Smith and her MAs are so personable and the setting is immaculate. There is a dermatology side which is very clean and efficient and the spa side is relaxing and beautiful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 15, 2016

Dr. Pentel and the staff at Southside Dermatology are very knowledgeable.  I have seen Dr. Pentel, her PA and various other assistants during treatment and all took plenty of time to make sure I was comfortable and understood my options and procedures.  Everyone has been professional, friendly and respectful.  Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 03, 2016

My 89 year old mom has experienced intense scalp itch for at least 40 years. She has seen numerous dermatologists in Oklahoma and Florida but never found any relief. Mom was about to give up on her scalp, but we decided to get an appointment at Southside Dermatology. BEST THING WE EVER DID!!! Debbie Smith ARNP was FANTASTIC in treating Mom...in addition to having a Masters in Nursing, she has a minor in Gerontology, which was a major factor in selecting this practitioner. After a thorough examination, a specially compounded prescription was ordered. NO MORE ITCH!!! To see Mom, in her older years, find relief from this chronic, frustrating issue, is a complete JOY!!! Thank you!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2016

I get my eyelashes done by May!  She does amazing work using Nova Lash!  Nova Lash are the BEST eyelashes on the market and so is May's work!  I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!  Thank you May for making me feel beautiful!   Prices are reasonable! Kim B. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2016

I get my eyelashes done by May!  She does amazing work using Nova Lash!  Nova Lash are the BEST eyelashes on the market and so is May’s work!  I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!  Thank you May for making me feel beautiful!  Prices are reasonable!Kim B. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 31, 2015

I was shocked when I walked in, this spa is gorgeous. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I was taken back to a lounge waiting area while I finished my paper work, when I say lounge I mean the chairs had foot rests! So comfy. I was taken back to a equally relaxing treatment room that was absolutely spotless. Dr. Pentell was informative and professional and gave me some skin care suggestions. I could tell right off the bat that she was being honest with her suggestions and knew just what I needed. It is pricey but I believe you get what you pay for. 12$ a unit for Botox is a little steep when you are used to paying 9$ a unit out of state but I will be back because of the quality. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 26, 2015

I met Dr. Pentel 12 years ago. She is an amazing doctor! I have had several treatments, lasers, and fillers. Thanks to her, I look so much younger than my 54 years! Thank you and thanks to your amazing staff!   Forever devoted! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 29, 2015

Met with Lauren and had a chemical peel for my sun damage. She is really cool,informative and down to earth.HIGHLY RECOMMEND  HER!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 08, 2015

Dr. Patel and her staff are warm, friendly and exceptionally well trained. I went in for Fraxel and about 90% of my sun damage was erased with one treatment. I went back for additional rounds and I feel it continued to take years off my face. Coming from San Francisco, where a medi spa has to be top notch or it doesn't survive, this spa met all my criteria. I trust their technology and technique.  I'll definitely be going back. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 27, 2015

Lauren is amazing!! I had a deluxe chem peel! My Skin feels great!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 19, 2014

They did a great job!! Love this practice they really go the extra mile to make your visit comfortable:-) I felt they knew their stuff and really cared about the concerns of the patient  I had the microdermabrasion with the vitamin c infusion and my skin looked great :-) I will definitely be returning for more treatments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 14, 2014

I have had a wonderful experience every time I have been at Southside Dermatology. I recently started getting the Novalash put on and it's amazing. Becky is wonderful. She takes her time and is very meticulous. She is also very friendly and makes sitting in the chair for over an hour feel fun. Becky also does an excellent job on other asthetic services including facials and microdermabrasion. If you need a make up consultation, she is great at that too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 10, 2014

I have always used Southside Dernatology (Dr. Pentel) for my skin checks and she is awesome.  In December, I decided to go over to the cosmetic side and do some fun things for a change.  I can't say enough about the staff on that side.  The are wonderful , caring people that don't try to push products or procedures on you.  I did the Novalash extensions and honestly I wasn't sure I would love them but I do!  Becky does an amazing job and is so patient.  She does not rush through it and is always there to answer questions at any time.  Plus, she plays great music for you! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I’m not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I'm not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More