Patient Reviews

Reviews for Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter19 Reviews  
4.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 24, 2020

Very relaxing environment. Waited a little longer than I should have for an estimate due to a customer prior to me having an add on procedure. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 27, 2020

Very professional and thorough. They ran late for the appointment. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 03, 2020

Dr Sosa has done a great job identifying and caring for a painful skin allergy in the medical dermatology department. The staff on this side of the business is helpful, patient and polite. Dr Sosa is kind, knowledgeable, compassionate and straightforward. I recommend her. Sadly, Dr Pentel’s support staff on the cosmetic dermatology portion is busy talking to each other before addressing waiting clients & are rude on the phone and impatient. They could not take the time to speak to me, telling me to look up the website and then hung up although I said the website did not address my needs (happened 2x). A promised follow-up email with info for an appointment never appeared. Dr Pentel should know that she is losing clients bc of her front desk staff’s attitude. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 18, 2020

Dr Sosa has done a great job identifying and caring for a painful skin allergy in the medical dermatology department. The staff on this side of the business is helpful, patient and polite. Dr Sosa is kind, knowledgeable, compassionate and straightforward. I recommend her. Sadly, Dr Pentel’s support staff on the cosmetic dermatology portion is busy talking to each other before addressing waiting clients & are rude on the phone and impatient. They could not take the time to speak to me, telling me to look up the website and then hung up although I said the website did not address my needs (happened 2x). A promised follow-up email with info for an appointment never appeared. Dr Pentel should know that she is losing clients bc of her front desk staff’s attitude. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2020

Thorough skin exams plus competent and efficient resolution of problems. They are so busy that sometimes you feel like cattle moving through a factory. However, I prefer competence over a warm experience but their 'patient' skills could be better. Update: Lately, patient skills have improved. Still professional and comprehensive. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 18, 2019

Laurie is awesome, very kind. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.D.  |  Source: Google  |  May 18, 2019

Perhaps it would help if the front desk staff would smile when they speak to patients in person or on the telephone. They come across very negatively. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 18, 2019

I was pleased with the courtesy, knowledge, and patient manner of the staff during my visit. When I contacted the office via their website, I received a prompt response. I was concerned that the lobby area seating is not set up safely and may be in violation of fire code. I had difficulty getting to and from a chair, as the rows were very close together. I am average-sized and able-bodied, so I think this could be dangerous for patients who have limited mobility. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 12, 2019

Always professional friendly service for the front desk, the techs and Dr. Debbie, always explains every procedure. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 12, 2019

Always professional friendly service for the front desk, the techs and Dr. Debbie, always explains every procedure. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2019

Very relaxing environment. Waited a little later nger than I should have for an estimate due to a customer prior to me having an add on procedure. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Southside is the best More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Dr Pental is very thorough and willing offer suggestions for treatment. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

Thorough skin exams plus competent and efficient resolution of problems. They are so busy that sometimes you feel like cattle moving through a factory. However, I prefer competence over a warm experience but their 'patient' skills could be better. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.U.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 04, 2017

Love the early morning appointments - go even earlier - maybe 6:00 am? And give Debbie Smith a raise -she's a rock star! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Google User  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

Love the early morning appointments - go even earlier - maybe 6:00 am? And give Debbie Smith a raise -she's a rock star! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from I.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 29, 2016

Restalyne Silk, Belotero and Dysport for Under Eye, Tear Trough - Jacksonville, FL - I have always lived with deep lines and hollowness under my eyes. My eyes get puffy when im on my menses, which makes them look worse and this has been a huge insecurity of mine. ive been getting fillers for the past 3 yrs to help resolve this issue for me and so far I can only trust 2 Derm docs with my face (ive seen 8 total, betw NY, MD & FL). Yesterday, I went to Southside Dermatology and Dr Pentel rejuvenated my face, I am soo happy with the results. I know its only been 24hrs but I can see a huge difference compared to the injections Ive received in the past. To treat the swelling ive been icing my face for 20mins every 2 hours, taking tylenol every 6hrs and using vitamin k creme to reduce bruising. So far these are my results and I will continue to update. Dr Pentel used Restalyne Silk 1ml to my cheeks and layered the wrinkles under my eyes with belotero. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I’m not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2013

Several of my coworkers come here and I was forewarned about how backed up this place can get and to expect a long wait.  I was pleasantly surprised when I was in and out in a little over 30 minutes.  I came in during their Wed evening hours so maybe that makes a difference.  I also saw the Nurse Practitioner so maybe her schedule is a little lighter than the Dr too.  Anyway, I came in for a regular skin check and the NP was super nice, very professional, and I left feeling like I'm not going to drop dead of skin cancer anytime soon which pretty much made me a happy patient! More