Patient Reviews

Reviews for Skin Cancer Treatment Services Near Jacksonville, FL

Board-certified dermatologist Dr. Mary Pentel and the rest of our incredible team at Southside Dermatology & Laser Cosmetic Center understand that you have many practices to choose from for your skin-care needs. For this reason, we are committed to setting ourselves apart by offering you attentive, personalized dermatological care from the moment you step through our doors and for years to come. We treat each of our patients like family and continuously assess areas where we can improve to provide you with the best experience possible. Many of our patients have shared their stories online and for your convenience, we have collected their reviews below for you to learn more about us and the exceptional service you can expect when you visit our practice. We look forward to welcoming you into our family!

Filter15 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 14, 2020

I have been coming to Southside Dermatology for 20 years. They are professional but fun and thorough! Being a lifelong resident of Florida the sun has done its damage but Dr. Pentel and her staff have brought me through skin cancer and taught me the right way to enjoy our Florida sun... I highly recommend them for your family... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 22, 2020

I have had MANY skin cancers diagnosed at Southside Dermatiology. They are now able to use radiation therapy on certain skin cancers, which is far better for someone like me on blood thinners. I highly recommend their skilled staff with their diagnoses and procedures they perform. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 22, 2020

Dr Sosa is the best. She listens intently and gives you alternatives for care. I have had several skin cancers from growing up in Miami and being a redhead. I can usually spot cancer and like to skip over steps when I'm sure and just do a biopsy. She will agree to this. She is great at identifying precancerous spots that i tend to overlook. I highly recommend her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 18, 2020

Dr Pentel & her staff have always been very caring while addressing all of my medical needs.  Ted, Chloe and Willette take the time to explain things to me, and patiently answer my many questions. I highly recommend Southside Dermatology to anyone who needs excellent skin care and skin cancer screening. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I’ve been going to Dr. Pentel for over ten years. She discovered I had melanoma twice and removed it all. I now go annually to get my skin check and Dr. Pentel and her staff are always kind and professional. If you want a Dermatologist that knows what skin cancer looks like...she is your doctor. ?? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 18, 2019

Always right on with my examination and treatments. Very friendly and courteous staff and highly recommend them for any skin treatment and procedure you might need. They follow up with you after surgery and send reminders when time to be checked for skin cancer or whatever condition you might have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr.Pentel's both in dermatology and cosmetics for 7 years.My husband & I have ongoing skin cancer issues and are always impressed with the level of education,skill,expertise and courtesy shown to us during our various treatment methods.Dr. Pentel sets the bar quite high for the entire staff and it is a pleasure to interact with all.The dermatology front desk staff work together seamlessly as a team..they are proficient in customer service as well as insurance acumen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2018

I "interviewed" Dr Boyd after having an unpleasant experience with another dermatologist who wanted to sell other products and services. Dr Boyd is conservative in his approach and has always been spot-on (excuse the pun) when diagnosing my skin. I have had skin cancer related issues for 50 years...he and his staff are great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2017

I have had multiple skin cancers. This office is professional and informative. Dr Pentel and her staff have been knowledgeable and skillful in removing my lesions. Front desk staff are excellent and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2014

I had my first body scan for skin cancer and was impressed with how thorough Dr. Pentel's physician's assistant, Debbie Smith was. I have heard of other people going to their dermatologist and having lots of things removed, I was happy there was nothing that needed to be tested or removed despite how carefully I was examined. I was impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the entire medical and office staff. It is a pleasant office with very friendly and helpful staff. I now buy all of my Obagi products there and am planning on a cosmetic procedure in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2013

I initially saw Dr. Pentel for what we think was a spider bite. It had become necrotic in just a day or two and I was understandably freaked out. Dr. Pentel was very reassuring, and prescribed what was necessary to take care of it, and provided thorough instructions on wound care so it would heal properly. I did as instructed, and it healed completely without any complications. I've also seen Dr. Pentel for an adult acne flare-up, and to have a few suspicious leisions looked at. It's novel that when she does any biopsies, she also keeps an eye on the aesthetic side of things. Both Dr. Pentel and her staff were always helpful, professional, and pleasant. The wait time is sometimes a little longer than I would like, but in what medical office doesn't that happen? I can also say that Dr. Pentel has also done a lot of skin cancer care on my mom, and the care is excellent and any scarring is minimal. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2013

I have been seeing Dr. Pentel for the past 4 years and she has done a great job with the removal of several skin cancers that I have had. The office staff is professional and friendly. Dr. Pentel is so friendly and takes time with you when needed. You do not feel like she is trying to rush in and out of the appointment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2012

I initially saw Dr. Pentel for what we think was a spider bite. It had become necrotic in just a day or two and I was understandably freaked out. Dr. Pentel was very reassuring, and prescribed what was necessary to take care of it, and provided thorough instructions on wound care so it would heal properly. I did as instructed, and it healed completely without any complications. I've also seen Dr. Pentel for an adult acne flare-up, and to have a few suspicious leisions looked at. It's novel that when she does any biopsies, she also keeps an eye on the aesthetic side of things. Both Dr. Pentel and her staff were always helpful, professional, and pleasant. The wait time is sometimes a little longer than I would like, but in what medical office doesn't that happen? I can also say that Dr. Pentel has also done a lot of skin cancer care on my mom, and the care is excellent and any scarring is minimal. More